The hunt for India’s most talented and versatile youth recently concluded and two youths from Assam, Gyandeep Goswami and Anubhav Goswami brought laurels to the region by making it to the finals of ‘MTV Colors of Youth’ season 5.

The talent was pitted among others from the best B-Schools and colleges in India and the duo may not have won the contest but have proved that Northeastern youth are never far behind than others.  The competition was tough but the effort, struggle and every bit of their journey was worth it. The duo left the panel- Nikhil Chinapa and Perizaad Zorabian mesmerized by their voices.

Speaking to Shweta Raj Kanwar from TNT: The Northeast Today News, Gyandeep and Anubhav share their experiences, struggles and their source of inspiration that helped them to rise above all odds.

Despite pursuing an Engineering degree from Assam Engineering College, the duo always had an affinity, although hidden at first, for music.  As Gyandeep says, “I wasn’t much a singer before getting into the college! I was more involved in playing instruments like mandolin and keyboard. I never did compete in any national level competition before. As I started singing just after getting into my college, I competed in college cultural events and I bagged prizes in some events like western song competition, jikir, qawali in college competitions. So basically Colors of youth was like my first try!”

Anubhav adds, “I had been a short distance runner in my school days. I still devote my time to football whenever I am free. Though the hectic college life doesn’t allow me to follow football like I used to, during my high school days.” Living their lives as ordinary students, the duo had never thought that something as big as this would come their way, helping them find their hidden talents and giving them an opportunity to make the region proud.

Anubhav recalls, “This show came to us as a surprise. We had another gig at some other place. So we were rehearsing for that. We had been hearing rumors that MTV would visit our college for some show. The fact that Nikhil Chinapa and Perizaad Zorabian would actually come as judges never came to our minds. Not for a single time.” Talking about the show, he further adds, “The North East Prelims was held at AEC auditorium. We had a very short span of time to rehearse.  So we decided to showcase a mashup of two hindi songs!  The judges actually liked our performance and hearing comments from them was itself a big thing for us”, he adds in excitement.

The duo sang songs that were a fusion of sorts, that were away from the usual monotony and this was what took them as far as becoming the finalists in the show. He adds, “8 acts got selected from the Northeast region from a total of 130 acts(approx; if I am not wrong) for the Zonal round which was to be held in Kolkata. We made it to the finale. We didn’t win!” he sighs. Anubhav talks about their forte and says “We perform Mashups mostly! Soft Instrumental pieces with a bit of Bollywood taste. Presently, we are working on our own compositions and stuff.”

The duo seek inspiration from various sources including Ragging which is funnily interesting enough. As Gyandeep adds, ” My maa inspired me to get into the field of music. She introduced me to this new world buying me a mandolin when i was a kid! gradually i got deeper. But singing? … it is because of the ragging that i faced in my hostel! My seniors forced me to sing and when I did, they forced me to sing for the hostel on the stage. I lacked confidence but my friend’s and seniors support helped me to overcome it. Before that i never realized, people like my voice as well! To this, Anubhav adds, “My parents motivates me in every front and we share a great taste in music. My parents sing too. My teachers have also motivated me and have encouraged me to sing.”

“The music scenario of Northeast is undoubtedly much better as compared to other parts of India and this is what gives us pride and inspires us”, the duo add.

Right now, the youngsters are trying to strike a right balance between their studies and their passion for music and singing and are bent upon completing their engineering degree first. However, keeping alive their talent, the duo have also ‘one-named’ themselves as ‘Gyan-Neil’ and will very soon be uploading their duet performances.

These two youngsters present a very good example of the fact that one need not always be talented to become successful. Sometimes, a good company and inspiring people make big things happen at an unexpected time and place. TNT-The Northeast Today congratulates them on their stint and wishes them all the luck for their future endeavors.

By Shweta Raj Kanwar

shwetarajkanwar@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

